Threads of Fate (PSX)

I recently went on a hunt for fifth-or-sixth-generation RPG that could be completed in 15-20 hours. I added a lot of great-looking games to my backlog, but for now, I’ve settled on Threads of Fate for the PlayStation.

Threads of Fate hit Japan in 1999 as DewPrizm, and after gaining positive reviews for a little over half a year, came Stateside with an ESRB rating of E. The game begins by giving you a choice of two characters: the boy Rue, who’s described as “serious and somber” in the online reviews I’ve read, or the girl Mint, who’s described as “back-stabbing, self-centered and greedy.” Before reading that particular review, I began the game as Rue. I’ll be talking mostly about him as I expound on the game in future posts.

For now, though, we’re going to cut over to the emulator. I’m using ePSXe 1.9.25, only because I installed the emulator last year. I was completely unaware that a new version had been released, and I’ll take a look at the game’s performance on the updated emulator when I post next about the game. I’m using image files of the disk to play. ePSXe in the above-mentioned version seems to handle the bin/cue files with no problems.

My plug-ins are:

  • Pete’s OpenGL2 Driver 2.9 for video
  • ePSXe SPU core 1.9.0 for sound
  • ePSXe CDR WNT/W2K core 1.7.0 for CD rom
  • I’m using the SCPH1001.bin BIOS as well.

I rarely change plug-ins when I play a new game, and no changes were required to run this game. If you’re curious about my PC’s specs, please see the first post of the blog.

I’m not using save states. I’m emulating the memory card with the default settings, but I am looking into memory card manager utilities.

Finally, my controller is a MadKatz PS2 controller that I bought nearly a decade ago, and a 3-in-1 MagicJoyBox adapter from MayFlash. I’ve programmed the buttons to be their exact counter parts.

So far, I’m having fun. The story is nothing new, but the music isn’t bad and Rue’s battle mechanic of transforming is kind of cool.

Current time on howlongtobeat: 47 minutes.

Leave a Reply

