Kirby’s Dream Land 2 (GB)

I wound up working all of last weekend, so a RGotW didn’t happen. I’ll post one up this weekend. I’m also working on a couple of other projects for posts on this blog. I’m attempting to reproduce some graphical issues I’m having with Threads of Fate, and I’m putting together a video clip for a game I haven’t yet mentioned on the blog. That video clip has actually eaten a good bit of my video game time.

In any case, I get 30-minute lunch breaks at work. Let’s be honest: I would rather keep to myself, given that I’m a temp and therefore a “second-class citizen.” Saying or doing the wrong thing can easily cost me my job, at least, until I get hired in next month. Trying to keep to myself doesn’t always work, but some days, I’m left alone. As a result, I often play games on my phone. We all know that “play” means “emulate,” at least 75% of the time.

I’m still experimenting with Android emulators, but for classic Game Boy games, I’m currently using My Old Boy! Free. I don’t want to pay to unlock some features, so that’s a bit of a drawback for me. Save states, which I rarely use anyway, are a nice feature to have when I want them.

It is nice, however, to be able to hold my phone like an actual Game Boy while I play. While I continue to experiment with PSP emulation, I’m using my PS2 controller to replicate the controls, but it just isn’t the same as my old PSP.

Now, when I use my phone for emulation, keep in mind that I’m using a Samsung Galaxy S III, which is a pretty outdated model. I’ve fussed with Game Boy emulation on a Galaxy Mega, and I much preferred that. I’m still going to write from the perspective of an SIII, just because my Mega was killed a long, long time ago.

Let’s take a look at controls, shall we? Since my phone is a touch screen, the controls are all done with a virtual keypad of sorts. As the featured image for this post shows, you simply have to move your finger over the indicated area to input that control. This is the main reason I can hold my phone like a Game Boy.

That said, the controls are a little wonky. I’m not sure if it’s my phone, the emulator, or just me, but sometimes, the wrong control is input and Kirby does some pretty stupid things. For instance, I’ll hit forward (at least, I think I do) and Kirby will jump or float. It’s pretty damn frustrating at times.

I think there’s a setting you can turn on (or it’s turned on by default) where any game with enhanced color for the Super Boy will be shown in color on the emulator, as Kirby’s shown in the featured image. The colors are actually a nice touch, considering I never played my physical copy of the game on a Super Boy. The graphics are crisp and clean, which is more than can be said for some of the other (grey scale!) games I’ve run on the emulator.

I guess at least I can still play the game, which runs flawlessly (controls aside).

Leave a Reply

